Pearce: Teams are being formed now for WWE women’s tag title tournament

WWE announced during Friday Night SmackDown this week that the tag team championship tournament first announced in May will go ahead as originally planned, and it will begin on next week’s episode of Monday night Raw.

In a separate announcement post from Adam Pearce, he said, “Teams are now being formed.”

“The women’s divisions of both Raw and SmackDown are in the process of forming teams, all hoping to tie their name to that championship history.”

There is already a team excited about the prospect of this:

Considering how few wrestlers there are in each division, you have to think that we’re looking at a four-team tournament here.

Here are the women’s rosters for both brands as listed on at the time of writing. It should be noted that Bayley, IYO SKY and Dakota Kai haven’t been added to the Raw roster yet, but that’s where they are now:


Alexa Bliss
Becky Lynch (injured)
Bianca Belair (current Raw Women’s Champion)
Dana Brooke
Liv Morgan (still listed here on the company’s website, current SmackDown Women’s Champion)
Nikki ASH
Rhea Ripley


Charlotte Flair (still on hiatus)
Lacey Evans
Naomi (still listed)
Raquel Rodriguez
Ronda Rousey
Sasha Banks (still listed)
Shayna Baszler (will challenge Morgan for the SmackDown women’s title on) Clash in the castle)
Sonya Deville
Xia Li

Sasha Banks and Naomi are still mentioned despite walking away and vacating the titles that necessitated this tournament in the first place. There are rumors and reports that WWE is working to bring them back, but the fact that this tournament is moving forward would suggest that talks have stalled.

Or maybe a big surprise is on the way.

We will have to pay attention to that.

In the meantime, feel free to book some squads based on those talent lists.

Leave a Comment